Paleo friendly Pizza base

I love pizza, but, I do struggle to find pizza to eat at home that I really like. I’m not that keen on shop bought pizza, never seems to taste that great, and unless I am on a massive junk/gluten binge I’m not keen on Domino’s either.

My inspiration for this recipe came from Clean Eats in the Zoo but I modified it to suit me and also I found Shanti’s version to be very wet, but maybe I got the measurements wrong!

We topped it with a simple shop bought pasta sauce, although I did have some home made sauce in the freezer I decided not to defrost it as I had some sauce open, some grated mozzarella although you can exclude or use your preferred dairy free alternative, pepperoni slices and green and black olives.

It took about 30 minutes from start to table and was universally acclaimed as a success! It was even good cold in London at a demo the next day. I personally preferred it to any shop bought pizza I’ve ever tried.

Some of these recipes use ingredients that I have found expensive or hard to buy in large quantities needed in UK supermarkets or local stores. Where relevant I have included links to what I buy.

Preheat your oven to 220c

1 1/3 cups ground almonds (the finer the better)
2 cups tapioca flour
2 tsp gluten free (maize starch free) baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup olive oil (I used extra virgin)
2/3 cup water

Mix dry ingredients together. Make a well in the middle and add water and olive oil. Using a wooden spoon gently combine the wet and dry ingredients to form a soft dough.

base ready

Base after 10 minutes in the oven

Oil a large baking sheet liberally with olive oil using your hands and keep your hands well oiled. Turn the dough out onto the baking sheet and with well oiled hands press out to form an even base. I made mine rectangular and filled the baking sheet but you can make it round if you prefer. Re-oil your hands as needed to stop the dough sticking.

ready to eat

Put into the hot oven and bake for about 10 minutes. The base should be risen and light golden brown. Mine was slightly cracked too, that is ok.

Remove from the oven and add your toppings. Return to the oven for a further 10 minutes or until the pizza is done, the cheese is bubbling if you are using cheese.

Enjoy!

Now with added pictures – tried again just to make sure it was still as good and it was another resounding success!

One thought on “Paleo friendly Pizza base

  1. Laura Post author

    I’ve added some pictures after making this pizza again last night. Love the fact my daughter told me “this should be a restaurant Mum ‘cos you’re a really great cook”. ❤

    Reply

What do you think?

